Book Review: Stars Above

Stars Above by Marissa Meyer Goodreads Summary: The enchantment continues…. The universe of the Lunar Chronicles holds stories—and secrets—that are wondrous, vicious, and romantic. How did Cinder first arrive in New Beijing? How did the brooding soldier Wolf transform from young man to killer? When did Princess Winter and the palace guard Jacin realize their […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Monday Musings with Pictures

I have cilantro growing out of the cracks of my driveway.   This is where chips in my house go to die: We’ve been working on a bathroom remodel for the girls bathroom upstairs.  There’s still no sink, but we finally have a working shower and toilet, which is more than we’ve had for over […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Crock Pot FAIL.

I prepped THIS recipe Monday night and left it cooking in the crock pot yesterday morning when I left for work.   The smells were so good, and I was looking forward to coming home on our busy evening with minimal effort left in our meal.  I was just going to shred the beef and […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Book Review: Bel Canto

Bel Canto by Ann Patchett Goodreads Summary: In an unnamed South American country, a world-renowned soprano sings at a birthday party in honor of a visiting Japanese industrial titan. His hosts hope that Mr. Hosokawa can be persuaded to build a factory in their Third World backwater. Alas, in the opening sequence, just as the […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Book Review: What Alice Forgot

What Alice Forgot  by Liane Moriarty Goodreads Suummary: Alice Love is twenty-nine, crazy about her husband, and pregnant with her first child. So imagine Alice’s surprise when she comes to on the floor of a gym and is whisked off to the hospital where she discovers the honeymoon is truly over — she’s getting divorced, […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Top Ten Tuesday

Joining the Broke and the Bookish today with another Top Ten Tuesday.  Although I could only think of five, because apparently I don’t stretch myself out of my typical genre much. Five Books I Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book: The Martian by Andy Weir – I’m typically not a sci-fi fan, so a story […]

Read full story Comments { 1 }

Monday Musings

Currently… Feeling Optimistic.  My life has been a series of hills and valleys when it comes to my weight and healthy choices. Rebooting again today.  I’m up to my eyeballs in the amount of water currently ingested.  Here’s to healthy! Reading Bel Canto by Ann Patchett. I’ve heard good things about this one, but it’s […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Book Review: Finding Paris

Finding Paris by Jo Preble Goodreads Summary: An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other—perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Preble’s stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Book Review: A Little Something Different

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall Goodreads Summary: The distinctive new crowdsourced publishing imprint Swoon Reads proudly presents its first published novel—an irresistibly sweet romance between two college students told from 14 different viewpoints. The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Book Review: Red Queen

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard Goodreads Summary: This is a world divided by blood – red or silver. The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change. That is, until she […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }