Archive | Book Review RSS feed for this section

Top Ten Tuesday

Joining the Broke and the Bookish today with another Top Ten Tuesday.  Although I could only think of five, because apparently I don’t stretch myself out of my typical genre much. Five Books I Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book: The Martian by Andy Weir – I’m typically not a sci-fi fan, so a story […]

Read full story Comments { 1 }

Book Review: Finding Paris

Finding Paris by Jo Preble Goodreads Summary: An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other—perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Preble’s stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Book Review: A Little Something Different

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall Goodreads Summary: The distinctive new crowdsourced publishing imprint Swoon Reads proudly presents its first published novel—an irresistibly sweet romance between two college students told from 14 different viewpoints. The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Book Review: Red Queen

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard Goodreads Summary: This is a world divided by blood – red or silver. The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change. That is, until she […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Book Review: Everything, Everything

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon Goodreads Summary My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla. But then one day, a moving truck […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Book Review: The Baker’s Daughter

The Baker’s Daughter by Sarah McCoy Goodreads Summary In 1945, Elsie Schmidt is a naive teenager, as eager for her first sip of champagne as she is for her first kiss. She and her family have been protected from the worst of the terror and desperation overtaking her country by a high-ranking Nazi who wishes […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t

Joining the Broke and the Bookish today for a Top Ten Tuesday Post. Here are the Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t… Forget Tomorrow by Pintip Dunn Illuminae by Amie Kaufman First & Then by Emma Mills My Kitchen Year by Ruth Reichl The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow Lock […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Book Review: Every Word

Book Review: Every Word

  Every Word by Ellie Marney Goodreads Summary: James Mycroft has just left for London to investigate a car accident similar to the one that killed his parents seven years ago…without saying goodbye to Rachel Watts, his ‘partner in crime’. Rachel is furious and worried about his strange behaviour – not that Mycroft’s ever exactly […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Book Review: Winter

  Winter  by Marissa Meyer Goodreads Summary: Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana. Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

31 Days with the Spirit: Book Recommendation

Back when I was doing my in-depth study of the Holy Spirit, I toyed with the idea of writing a book.  Then I read Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit by Francis Chan and decided there was no need.  What an amazing study in the Spirit!  Here is the Goodreads summary: In […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }