Book Review: Daddy-Long-Legs

DaddyLongLegsDaddy Long Legs

by
Jean Webster

Goodreads Summary:

Bright and lively Judy Abbott is an orphan who dreams of escaping the drudgery of her life at the John Grier Home. One day she receives a marvelous opportunity—a wealthy male benefactor has agreed to fund her higher education. In return, Judy must keep him informed about the ups and downs of college life. From horrendous Latin lessons to falling in love, the result is a series of letters both hilarious and poignant. Fans of L. M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables and Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women will relish this American-girl-power coming-of-age story. This gentle romance is the seventh book in the Looking Glass Library series.

My Thoughts:

Having recently read a re-write to this story (Dear Mr. Knightly) I knew how it would end before I started it.  However, I still enjoyed reading this book immensely.  I love the epistolary style, and Judy is just such an adorable character.  There’s a lot of Anne Shirley in her.  This is a great wholesome book for any young woman to read.  I loved the setting & turn of the century-ness of it.

Recommendations:

Would I recommend this to fellow book lovers?  Yes.
Would I recommend this to my teen daughter?  Absolutely, but it’s written for even younger.  I’d encourage my 11 year old to read it too.

Rating:

5 of 5 stars

 

Related posts:

About Laura

A Christian wife, mother, daughter, photographer, amateur chef, homeschooler, pretend gardener, cancer-survivor and laundry-hater.

, ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply